This rule has deviated from that original definition over the years. There are examples of protection from a wide variety of different attributes that opposing cards may have.
With the release of Magic Origins in July , it was announced that protection would soon become a thing of the past. It no longer worked in the design space that WotC wanted for it.
Protection has also started to make its way back into Standard sets, though only very sparingly. Gods Willing Illustration by Mark Winters. Not only is it on brand for white to have access to spells that protect their creatures, but it has black and red as natural enemies, the two colors in Magic with the heaviest focus on damage and targeted removal.
This is usually just a color, but there are all sorts of things that you can have protection against. Protection works exactly the same with all of these possible attributes. This will also work on changeling creatures like Morophon, the Boundless. Ronom Hulk has a unique protection ability: protection from snow. Snow is a supertype in Magic that has appeared in a few sets including Modern Horizons and Kaldheim. The Hulk is protected against any of these cards. Runed Halo is another different variation on protection, granting it to you , the player, rather than to a creature you control.
Haktos the Unscarred is a fun card. As Haktos enters the battlefield, a mana value of two, three, or four is chosen at random and it has protection from all other mana values.
Hence, if three was chosen, Haktos can be destroyed by Murder but not by Heartless Act. Can Hexproof Creatures be blocked? Yes unless they also have another ability that makes them unblockable, of course. Protection from color is slithly better then hexproof from color.
It has also to be mentioned that if a creature has protection from a color, it cannot take damage from sources of that color as well. So it does not take damage from creatures it blocks with that color. It behaves as multiple separate protection abilities. All damage that would be dealt to such a permanent or player is prevented.
If the creature has other instances of protection from the same quality, those instances affect Auras as normal. If the creature has other instances of protection from the same quality, those instances affect attached permanents as normal. Wizards of the Coast. Keyword Abilities. Keyword Actions. Backbone Conjure Perpetually Seek Unstoppable. Ante Divvy Rhystic. Bury Landhome Substance. List of obsolete terminology List of deprecated mechanics List of silver-bordered mechanics List of unreleased mechanics Storm Scale.
Cancel Save. Universal Conquest Wiki. Protection from [quality] This can't be blocked, targeted, dealt damage, enchanted, or equipped by anything [quality]. Prismatic Boon , Ward of Lights. Angelic Curator , Yavimaya Scion. Shoreline Raider , Tsabo Tavoc [a]. Tsabo Tavoc [a]. Iridescent Angel. Beloved Chaplain. Tattoo Ward. Devoted Caretaker. As you noted, a creature with protection from something can't be blocked, targeted, dealt damage, enchanted, or equipped by anything that has that "something" quality.
That quality is usually one or more colors. As for your question, targeting can only happen when someone casts a spell, activates an activated ability, or triggers a triggered ability, as specified in Nothing else in the game involves targeting. In particular, attacking and blocking does not involve targeting in any way, and therefore that untargetability part of protection is irrelevant.
Taken from the MTG Wiki :. Protection is commonly misunderstood as complete exemption from permanents, and effects created by cards, with the specified quality. However, protection is defined by a relatively narrow set of rules, which are often communicated using the mnemonic acronym DEBT. The object with protection cannot be:. So your creature can block the creature it has protection from without taking damage , but cannot be blocked by it.
As for the confusion about targetting, there is following rule emphasis mine :. Some spells and abilities require their controller to choose one or more targets for them. These targets are declared as part of the process of putting the spell or ability on the stack. So the action of declaring the creature to block does not involve choosing a target, only spells and abilities that use the word "target" do.
Sign up to join this community. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top. Stack Overflow for Teams — Collaborate and share knowledge with a private group. Create a free Team What is Teams?
0コメント